Last week the ARPA-E team succeeded in reaching one of the most important milestones of the project, namely pumping liquid tin (Sn) at 1350C with an all ceramic pump. This milestone is a huge success for the project and to our knowledge sets the record for the highest temperature fluid ever pumped continuously (i.e., where […]

Professor Henry was recently selected to receive the prestigious NSF Career award. The NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and […]

A recent article on the popular science enthusiast website Gizmodo highlights the work going on in the ASE group focused on the use of sonification to better understand phonon transport and interactions. See the article here.

Professor Henry is part of a team led by close collaborator Professor Ken Sandhage at Purdue University, that was selected by the Department of Energy SunShot Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) program to receive $4.8M towards the development and testing of new composite material based high temperature heat exchangers. The key advancement is the use of […]

In November of 2014 Professor Henry was invited to MIT to give a talk on phonon transport entitled: “Thinking Beyond the Phonon Gas Model”. The talk was recorded and has now been uploaded to the web. The talk provides a general overview of the new perspective the ASE research group has developed regarding phonon transport […]

2015 – Graduate student Greg Wilk of the ASE group was awarded the James G Campbell Fellowship.  

2/26/15 – Professor Asegun Henry was awarded the Lockheed Inspirational Young Faculty Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize inspirational professors and mentors from among the untenured junior faculty from the Georgia Tech Schools of Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and  Mechanical Engineering. Award recipients are selected based upon contributions that inspire, recruit, […]

2014 – Graduate student Freddy DeAngelis of the ASE group was awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) graduate fellowship. Since 1952, NSF has provided fellowships to individuals selected early in their graduate careers based on their demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. Three years of support is provided by the program for graduate study […]

The ARPA-E team recently reached a major milestone whereby they have successfully demonstrated that they can make liquid metal valves to control the flow of liquid metal in a high temperature CSP plant.

1/2013 – A team led by Professor Asegun Henry at Georgia Tech, along with collaborators at Stanford University and the University of Rochester were awarded $3.6M by the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) to pursue high temperature liquid metal based concentrated solar power (CSP). The project, entitled “High Efficiency Solar Fuels Reactor Concept” is […]